cd-manifesto

Minimum Viable Continuous Delivery

This project is maintained by Minimum-CD

Minimum Viable Continuous Delivery

“Continuous delivery improves both delivery performance and quality, and also helps improve culture and reduce burnout and deployment pain.”

– Accelerate

We, the undersigned, believe that a minimal definition of continuous delivery (CD) is required to improve the flow of delivery. While our contexts may be different, there are universal practices. By defining them we can:

Only by implementing core practices do we begin to see the benefits of continuous delivery.

The practices below are the minimum, a starting point. Continuous improvement of the speed, quality, and safety of the delivery pipeline is the expected outcome.


Continuous Delivery

CD is the engineering discipline of delivering all changes in a standard way safely. It covers a broad spectrum of activities depending on what is being delivered. However, there are behaviors and abilities that must be met in every context to qualify as “continuous delivery”

The minimum activities required for CD are:

Continuous Integration

CI is the activity of very frequently integrating work to the trunk of version control and verifying that the work is, to the best of our knowledge, releasable.

The minimum activities required for CI are:

Trunk-based Development

Trunk-based development is the branching pattern required to meet the definition of CI. It prevents lost work, the risk of corruption that comes from merge conflict resolution, and also reduces movement waste that increases batch size.

Beyond the Minimums

Minimum CD is not the first step in a maturity model. However, it is still the bare minimum upon which many more practices should be built as appropriate to your context. To aid your journey in going beyond Minimum CD, we maintain a list of resources that focus on Continuous Delivery which we have found very useful in our own journeys.

These contain the basics, but also the knowledge needed to become an “Elite” CD organization. They are specific to solving the problem of “why can’t we go to production today?”

Read the list.

Why did we build this?

For more background on Minimum CD and answers to other common questions, please read the FAQs.

Translations

Want to Contribute or become a signatory?

Read our contribution guidelines.

Signatories

Name Contact
Dave Farley https://www.linkedin.com/in/dave-farley-a67927
Bryan Finster https://www.linkedin.com/in/bryan-finster/
Ferrix Hovi https://www.linkedin.com/in/ferrix/
Justin Abrahms https://justin.abrah.ms/
Joe Arrowood https://www.linkedin.com/in/joearrowood/
Jerreck McWilliams https://www.linkedin.com/in/jerreck/
Istvan Bathazi https://www.linkedin.com/in/istvan-bathazi/
Sara Gramling https://www.linkedin.com/in/saragramling/
Tracy Bannon https://www.linkedin.com/in/tracylbannon/
Dana Finster https://www.linkedin.com/in/danafinster/
Patrick S. Kelso https://www.linkedin.com/in/patrickkelso/
Ben Link https://www.linkedin.com/in/benjamindlink/
Chris Kernaghan https://www.linkedin.com/in/chriskernaghan/
Chris Gossett https://www.linkedin.com/in/christopher-gossett-03b09347/
Joshua Barton https://www.linkedin.com/in/bartonjoshua/
Marc Boudreau https://www.linkedin.com/in/marc-boudreau
Courtney Kissler https://www.linkedin.com/in/courtney-kissler-0930681/
Andrea Laforgia https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrealaforgia/
Michael Nygard https://www.linkedin.com/in/mtnygard/
Aurel Estoup https://www.linkedin.com/in/aurel-estoup/
Emiliano Sutil https://www.linkedin.com/in/emiliano-sutil-77a2091b/
Jason Walker https://github.com/desktophero
Thomas J. Sweet https://www.linkedin.com/in/thomasjsweet/
Kelly Brownsberger https://www.linkedin.com/in/kellybrownsberger/
Andrew Marshall https://www.linkedin.com/in/ajmarshall2k/
Vilas Veeraraghavan https://www.linkedin.com/in/vilas-veeraraghavan/
Javier Lopez https://www.linkedin.com/in/javierlopezfernandez/
Javier Magana https://www.linkedin.com/in/javier-a-magana-98108/
Faraz Syed https://www.linkedin.com/in/farazsyed/
James Simon https://www.linkedin.com/in/jamesesimon/
Nathen Harvey https://twitter.com/nathenharvey
Jesse Getzie https://www.linkedin.com/in/jessegetzie/
Christophe Chaudier https://www.linkedin.com/in/cchaudier/
Rosalind Radcliffe https://www.linkedin.com/in/rosalind-radcliffe/
Austin Abro https://www.linkedin.com/in/austinabro/
Ron Forrester https://www.linkedin.com/in/ronforresterpdx/
David Hawes-Johnson https://www.linkedin.com/in/davidhawesjohnson/
Paul Moore https://www.linkedin.com/in/pdmoore2/
Shawn Button https://www.linkedin.com/in/shawnbutton/
Jesse Lin https://www.linkedin.com/in/jesse-lin/
Markus Mikkolainen https://www.linkedin.com/in/itmmti/
Alessandro Fardin https://www.linkedin.com/in/alessandro-fardin-61028b28/
James Moverley https://www.linkedin.com/in/jmoverley/
Michael Kingery https://www.linkedin.com/in/kingerymike/
Isaac Perez Moncho https://www.linkedin.com/in/isaac-perez-moncho-84922b6/
Igor Gassmann https://igassmann.me/
Wayne Gaskill https://www.linkedin.com/in/waynegaskill/
Chris Gallivan https://www.linkedin.com/in/christopher-gallivan-16a2b02/
Alexander Birk https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexander-birk-050625215/
Kaine Bent https://www.linkedin.com/in/ka1ne/
Andrew Ochsner https://www.linkedin.com/in/aochsner/
Stephen Magill https://www.linkedin.com/in/stephen-magill-2070a096/
Jordan Schwartz https://www.linkedin.com/in/jordanaschwartz/